While growing up, I was a faithful subscriber to Sports Illustrated for Kids. One of my favorite parts of the magazine was a section titled, “You Make the Call.” There were three situations every issue that tested your knowledge on the rules of various sports.
Here is a Little League situation that I came across today. You make the call:
Runners on first and third, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to centerfield which is caught. Runner on first left when the batter hit the ball and before he could return, is doubled at first. Runner on third crosses plate before out is made at first. Does the run score?
Yes – While most appeals must be verbal so the umpire knows the defense is aware of a base-running infraction, this play does not have to be verbal because the actions of the defense lets the umpire know that they know the runner on first did not tag up. The base runner on first base was required to tag up but when the batter was out on the catch of the fly ball, the force was removed and this becomes a timing play. If the runner on third tags or touches home plate before the ball gets to the first baseman for the out at first, the run would count.
(Photo provided by Getty Images)